India’s Grand Connectivity Project: The Golden Quadrilateral Explored!

The Golden Quadrilateral (GQ) is a network of highways in India that connects the four major metropolitan cities of Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, and Kolkata. It is one of the largest highway projects in India and spans a distance of approximately 5,846 kilometers (3,633 miles). The project was initiated by the government of India in the year 2001 and completed in 2012.

Here are the route details of the Golden Quadrilateral:

  1. Delhi-Kolkata (via Mumbai and Chennai):
    • Delhi to Mumbai: The route starts from Delhi and passes through cities like Jaipur, Udaipur, Ahmedabad, Vadodara, and Surat before reaching Mumbai.
    • Mumbai to Chennai: From Mumbai, the highway continues southward, passing through Pune, Bangalore, and Chennai.
    • Chennai to Kolkata: After Chennai, the highway heads northeast, passing through cities like Visakhapatnam, Bhubaneswar, and Cuttack before reaching Kolkata.
  2. Kolkata-Delhi (via Chennai and Mumbai):
    • Kolkata to Chennai: The route starts from Kolkata and heads south, passing through cities like Bhubaneswar, Visakhapatnam, and Chennai.
    • Chennai to Mumbai: From Chennai, the highway heads northwest, passing through Bangalore, Pune, and Mumbai.
    • Mumbai to Delhi: From Mumbai, the route heads northward, passing through cities like Surat, Vadodara, Ahmedabad, Udaipur, and Jaipur before reaching Delhi.

The construction of the Golden Quadrilateral involved upgrading and widening existing highways as well as constructing new sections to connect the four major cities. The highway project aimed to improve connectivity, reduce travel time, and boost economic development by facilitating the movement of goods and people across the country.

The construction details of the Golden Quadrilateral varied across different sections of the route. It involved activities such as land acquisition, design and planning, road widening, construction of new bypasses and flyovers, as well as the establishment of service facilities like petrol stations, rest areas, and toll plazas.

The Golden Quadrilateral project was implemented in phases, and the construction work was carried out by various agencies and contractors under the supervision of the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI). The project involved significant investment in infrastructure and played a crucial role in enhancing the transportation network of India.

Disclaimer: The views expressed above are for informational purposes only based on industry reports and related news stories. PropertyPistol does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or reliability of the information and shall not be held responsible for any action taken based on the published information.


No account yet? Register

(Visited 152 times, 1 visits today)

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Buy and Sell Properties
25k+ Properties
241+ Location
311+ Agents
1Lac+ Customers