The Namma Metro in Bangalore: everything you need to know

Namma Metro, commonly known as Bengaluru Metro, is rapidly expanding. From Bengaluru Airport in the north to Anjanapura in the south, connectivity in the IT capital is likely to improve.

Bengaluru was the first city in South India to receive metro train service. The Bengaluru Metro, also known as Namma Metro, presently covers the majority of the city and will soon be expanded to the city’s outskirts to improve connectivity for the people. Here’s all you need to know about Bangalore Metro connections, stations, new Bangalore Metro routes, maps, and metro schedules.

Information on the Namma Metro

The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation developed and conceptualised the Bengaluru Metro (DMRC). After years of delay, the first line was opened to the public in October 2011. The Bengaluru Metro Rail Corporation Limited is in charge of carrying out the project, which is presently in an expansionary phase (BMRCL). According to data from January 2020, the average daily ridership on the Namma Metro network is 5,18,000 people.

Phase 1 of the Namma Metro

Namma Metro Phase 1 featured two 42-kilometer-long lines, 8.82 kilometres of which were subterranean and the rest were elevated. This phase has 40 stations. The foundation stone for Phase 1 was set in June 2006, and work between Baiyyappanahalli and Mahatma Gandhi Road began in April 2007. The phase was eventually enlarged to include the northern extension (from Yeshwanthpur to Nagasandra) and the southern extension (from Yeshwanthpur to Nagasandra) (from Rashtreeya Vidyalaya Road to Yelachenahalli).

Phase 2 of the Namma Metro

The projected cost for the second phase of Namma Metro, approved by the union cabinet in January 2014, was Rs 26,405 crores, which is expected to rise to Rs 32,000 crores over time. Phase 2 is 72 kilometres long, 13 kilometres of which are underground. This phase has 62 stations, 12 of which are underground. Bengaluru Metro Phase 2 entails both the expansion of the two Phase 1 lines and the building of two additional lines.

The south terminus of the Green Line would be extended from Yelachenahalli to Anjanapura along Kanakapura Road and from Nagasandra to Madavara (formerly known BIEC) on Tumkur Road, according to the proposal. The Purple line’s east end will be expanded from Baiyappanahalli to Whitefield, while the west end will be extended from Mysore Road to Challaghatta through Kengeri.

In the second phase, a new 18-kilometer-long completely elevated route from RV Road to Bommasandra through Electronic City is also proposed. Another 21-kilometer line is being built from Kalena Agrahara (formerly Gottigere) to Nagawara. The route will have a 7.5-kilometer elevated corridor with six stations and a 13.76-kilometer subterranean section from the south ramp at Jayanagar Fire Station to the north ramp at Nagawara with 12 underground stations.

Basavaraj Bommai, Karnataka’s chief minister, has directed that the second phase of the Bengaluru Metro be completed by 2024.

Phase 2A of the Namma Metro (Blue Line)

As Phase-2A of the proposal, a new line between Silk Board and KR Puram has been added in Phase 2. Silk Board, HSR Layout, Agara, Ibbalur, Bellandur, Kadubeesanahalli, Kodibisanahalli, Marathahalli, ISRO, Doddanekundi, DRDO Sports Complex, Sarasvathi Nagara (formerly Mahadevapura), and KR Puram are planned as stations along the Outer Ring Road.

The ORR Metro Route, also known as the Blue Line, will connect with the expanded Purple Line at KR Puram and the planned RV Road – Bommasandra line (Yellow Line) at Silk Board.

Phase 2B of the Namma Metro (Airport Line)

Namma Metro Phase 2B, which would connect Kempegowda International Airport and MG Road, is now under development and will cost Rs 10,584 crores. The path will be 39 kilometres long. The route would begin at Krishnarajapura (KR Puram) and would go along the northern portion of the ORR (Outer Ring Road), passing via Nagawara, Hebbal, and Jakkur before arriving at the airport.

Purple Line of Namma Metro

The Purple Line runs from Baiyyappanahalli in the east to the Mysore Road terminal station in the south-west. The railway is 18.1 kilometres long with 17 stops. It is mostly elevated, with a 4.8-kilometer subterranean portion in the centre, and it runs through some of Bengaluru’s most prestigious neighbourhoods, including MG Road, Majestic, Railway Station, Vidhana Soudha, and others. The Purple Line is being expanded to Whitefield in the east and Challaghatta in the south-west at the moment.

On August 30, 2021, the section from Mysuru Road to Kengeri became operational. The BMRCL spent Rs 1,820 crores to build the elevated line and Rs 181 crores to acquire property.By March 2022, the metro line will be expanded by two kilometres along the same route to Challaghatta. Challaghatta will be the city’s first elevated metro depot.

Green Line of the Namma Metro

The Namma Metro Green Line links Nagasandra to Anjanapura in the north-west. It includes 30 stops and spans a distance of 30 kilometres. This, like the Purple Line, is largely elevated on both the north and south sides, with a four-kilometre subterranean portion in the middle. There are 26 elevated metro stations and three subterranean stations on the line. The Bengaluru Metro Green Line connects industrial regions such as Peenya and Yeshwanthpur in the north with residential areas such as Basavanagudi, Jayanagar, and Banashankari. The Green Line is also being extended north-west to Madavara and south to Silk Institute.With this the line’s length will be increased to 33.5 kilometres as a result of this.

Bangalore metro timings
LineMetro timings (Monday to Friday)Metro timings (Sundays, general holidays, 2nd and 4th Saturday)
Purple Line9 am to 10 am and 5:30 pm to 6:30 pm at 5-minute frequency 8 am to 9 am and 10 am to 11 am at 6-minute frequency 4.30 pm to 5.30 pm and 6.30 pm to 8 pm at 6-minute frequency  10 am to 12 pm and 5 pm to 7 pm at 8-minute frequency
Green Line9 am to 10 am and 5.30 pm to 6.30 pm at 5-minute frequency 8 am to 9 am and 10 am to 11 am at 6-min frequency 4.30 pm to 5.30 pm and 6.30 pm to 8.00 pm at 6-minute frequency10 am to 12 pm and 5 pm to 7 pm at 8-minute frequency

Because suspending train services at 8 p.m. causes difficulty for people, the Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation (BMRCL) has decided to extend metro hours till 10 p.m. Metro trains will run from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. if the plan is executed.

Disclaimer: The views expressed above are for informational purposes only based on industry reports and related news stories. PropertyPistol does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or reliability of the information and shall not be held responsible for any action taken based on the published information.


No account yet? Register

(Visited 188 times, 1 visits today)

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Buy and Sell Properties
25k+ Properties
241+ Location
311+ Agents
1Lac+ Customers