What is Coastal Regulation Zone (CRZ)?

Coastal Regulation Zones (CRZ) are locations along India’s 7,500-kilometer-long coastline. The Coastal Regulation Zone is defined as the coastal area up to 500m from the High Tide Line (HTL) and a stage of 100m along the banks of creeks, estuaries, backwaters, and rivers exposed to tidal fluctuations, according to the official notification. The Government of India regulates the construction of buildings, tourism infrastructure, and other facilities in these regions.

The Coastal Regulation Zone (CRZ) Rules restrict human and industrial activities close to the shoreline, in order to conserve the delicate ecosystems near the sea. This involves limiting some types of activity within a particular distance from the shoreline, such as massive constructions, the establishment of new enterprises, the storage or dumping of hazardous materials, mining, reclamation, and bunding. Here’s all you need to know about Coastal Regulation Zone:

What are Coastal Regulation Zones?

Coastal Regulation Zones include creeks, bays, seas, rivers, and backwaters that are impacted by tidal movement up to 500 metres from the High Tide Line, as well as the land between the Low Tide Line and the High Tide Line (CRZ). A notification was issued in February 1991, under the Environment Protection Act, 1986 for the control of coastal area activities by the Ministry of Environment and Forests (MoEF). This was when the Government of India declared Coastal Regulation Zones (CRZ) for the first time. The notice divides coastal regions into four categories: CRZ-1, CRZ-2, CRZ-3, and CRZ-4.

What are the many kinds of Coastal Regulation Zones?


These are environmentally sensitive places that are critical to the survival of the coast’s ecology. National parks/marine parks, sanctuaries, reserve forests, animal habitats, mangroves, and corals/coral reefs are examples. These are the locations that are located between the high and low tide lines.


This zone includes places that have already grown up to the coast’s coastline. Unauthorized buildings are not permitted in this zone.


CRZ-3 includes rural and urban areas that are reasonably untouched and do not fall into the previous two categories. Only agricultural operations and limited public amenities are permitted in this zone. It encompasses undeveloped lands inside municipal boundaries or in legally designated urban districts.


Except for those designated as CRZ-I, CRZ-II, or CRZ-III, these regions comprise coastline sections of Lakshadweep, the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, and a few other tiny islands. These locations are located in the aquatic region up to the territorial boundaries. This zone allows for activities such as fishing and other connected services. The term “electronic commerce” refers to the sale of electronic goods.

Disclaimer: The views expressed above are for informational purposes only based on industry reports and related news stories. PropertyPistol does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or reliability of the information and shall not be held responsible for any action taken based on the published information.


No account yet? Register

(Visited 394 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Buy and Sell Properties
25k+ Properties
241+ Location
311+ Agents
1Lac+ Customers